I Survived Burning Man 2008-Part 1

Ok, here we go. This blog is starting with a post about my experience at Burning Man last week. For several years I have pestered some friends about attending Burning Man, It never happened. When the chance came up this year to attend with another tribe I took it. After just over a month of half-assed preparation I headed south to the playa.

My goal for the trip was to absorb some of the amazing creativity that is Burning Man and hopefully bring some of it home. In my work I am always an observer, so my second goal was to spend my vacation as a participant. With that in mind and the harsh environment my camera did not go everywhere with me, and when it did it often stayed in the case. What follows are the moments I did document.

Here is a photo I had my neighbor take while joking that this may be the last time I will be seen alive:

1988 Honda Civic DX hatchback in Corvallis, Oregon.

Here is our ride to the playa:

Leaving Eugene for Burning Man 2008.

On the drive there we had a 3-4 hour delay because of an accident at Odell Lake. This put us behind and we arrived late at the campground in Alturas, changing plans we found a room in at 2:30 am. We arrived at Burning Man the next morning just as a 50 mph dust storm was approaching.

It was a big hassle putting up dome, at one point I used my head to stop a falling pipe. Once the dome was up we decided it was way too windy to put the cover on. We had to ride out most of the storm sitting in camp chairs behind the truck, it was a long 3-4 hours. Things calmed down a bit before sunset and we pitched the tent, we finally had a shelter for the night.

Here is our dome the next morning after we installed a cover:

Our 16 foot dome on the playa during Burning Man 2008.

Our campmates set up closer to the road:

Our tribes camp at 4:20 and hike in camping at Burning Man 2008.

My first daytime trip in to the playa I found this artwork being installed:

Playa art Burning Man 2008.

Another look, when finished the metal flowers were flame throwers:

Playa art Burning Man 2008.

My first daytime look at the man:

The man at Burning Man 2008.

The famous sign:

Black Rock City welcome sign at Burning Man 2008.

Our second set of camp mates arrived and set up adjacent to the first group,
we now had a large common area under shade:

Our tribes camp at 4:20 and hike in camping at Burning Man 2008.

Neighbors teepee late in the afternoon:

Teepee on the playa during Burning Man 2008.

Neighbors teepee a little later:

Teepee on the playa during Burning Man 2008.

Our dome at dusk:

16 foot dome on the playa during Burning Man 2008.

Burning artwork the second night:

Burning man 2008, flaming art on the playa.

Leave a Reply

